Illegal Entry Accountability Act

Illegal Entry Accountability Act

On the 30th of June, Rep. Randy Weber (Texas, 14th district which includes the south and southwest portions of Houston and Galveston) introduced the “Illegal Entry Accountability Act of 2014”. There are 16 co-sponsors to the bill and they are listed below. The bill is currently in the House Committee on Foreign Affairs. The bill will direct the Secretary of State to suspend all foreign aid to Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador, except funds that fall under narcotic control law enforcement programs.


Rep Boustany, Charles W., Jr. (LA), Rep Brooks, Mo (AL), Rep Burgess, Michael C. (TX), Rep Byrne, Bradley (AL), Rep Chabot, Steve (OH), Rep Clawson, Curt (FL), Rep Johnson, Sam (TX), Rep Marchant, Kenny (TX), Rep Neugebauer, Randy (TX), Rep Olson, Pete (TX), Rep Rice, Tom (SC), Rep Sessions, Pete (TX), Rep Smith, Lamar (TX), Rep Stivers, Steve (OH), Rep Stockman, Steve (TX), Rep Yoho, Ted S. (FL)



H. R. 5014



June 30, 2014


To suspend foreign assistance to certain countries related to unlawful migration.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,


This Act may be cited as the `Illegal Entry Accountability Act of 2014′.



Congress finds the following:

(1) The border between the United States and Mexico is not secure on either side, thereby allowing hundreds of thousands of individuals annually to enter the United States illegally.

(2) The majority of the individuals illegally crossing the United States-Mexico border are from Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador.

(3) Today, tens of thousands of unaccompanied alien children are crossing the United States-Mexico border sparking a humanitarian crisis and endangering thousands of children.

(4) The Department of Homeland Security is spending millions of Americans’ tax dollars to process and provide housing and healthcare services to unaccompanied alien children.

(5) The countries previously listed have failed to secure their borders and have failed to adopt and enforce policies that discourage illegal immigration into the United States.


(a) In General- Upon enactment of this Act, the Secretary of State shall immediately suspend all United States foreign assistance to the countries of Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador. Such assistance may be reinstated only if Congress determines that Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador have taken sufficient action to mitigate unlawful United States-Mexico border crossings by their respective citizens.

(b) Report- The Secretary of State shall annually submit to Congress a report documenting the measures taken by Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala and El Salvador to mitigate unlawful entry into the United States by its citizens.

(c) Exception- Foreign assistance distributed under the International Narcotic Control Law Enforcement program shall not be considered under subsection (a).